Call: +34932202577 

Your shopping cart is empty.

Spanish La Liga

The Primera División (First Division) of the Liga de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), commonly known in English as La Liga is the top professional association football division of the Spanish Football League system. It is officially named Liga BBVA (BBVA League) for sponsorship reasons. 

La Liga is contested by 20 teams, with the three lowest-placed teams relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top two teams in that division plus the winner of a play-off. A total of 60 teams have competed in La Liga since its inception. Nine teams have been crowned champions, with Real Madrid winning the title a record 32 times and Barcelona 23 times. Real Madrid dominated the championship from the 1950s through the 1980s. Since the 1990s, however, Real Madrid and Barcelona have both dominated, although La Liga has historically seen other champions, including Atlético Madrid, Valencia, and Deportivo de La Coruña.

La Liga has been the top league in Europe over the last five years according to UEFA's league coefficient and La Liga clubs have been the top-rated club in Europe more times than any other league (18) double that of second placed Serie A with (9). La Liga based clubs have also won the most IFFS World's Club Team of the Year awards (9). La Liga clubs have won the most UEFA Champions League tournaments (15) and Real Madrid are the competition's most successful club, with ten titles.


Buy Football Tickets

14 Jan 2019 17:30